A convert and disciple of St John the Evangelist, appointed as Bishop of Antioch by St Peter, martyred by being eaten by lions.

We had this reading at midday office today and I thought it was worth sharing with you all.

A Reading From St Ignatius of Antioch

      Pray for me, that God will give me inward and outward strength, that i may not only say, but do. That I may not only be called a Christian, but be found one. I have no desire after anything visible or invisible, that I may attain to Jesus Christ. Let fire, or the cross, or the concourse of wild beasts, let breaking of bones and cutting of limbs, and all the wicked torments of the devil come upon me, so I may but attain to Jesus Christ. It is better for me to die for the sake of Jesus Christ, than to rule unto the ends of the earth. Him I seek who died for us:Him I desire who rose again for us. He is my gain at hand. Be not my hindrance in attaining to life, for Jesus Christ is the life of the faithful. Whilst I desire to belong to God, do not ye yield me back to the world. Suffer me to partake of the pure light. When I shall be there, I  shall be a man of God. Permit me to imitate the passion of Christ my God. Let none of you who are present attempt to succour me. Be rather on my side, that is on God’s. Entertain no desires of the world, having Jesus Christ in your mouths. Let no envy find place in your breasts. My desire is to die. My love is crucified. The fire that is within me does not crave and water; but being alive and springing within, says:come to the Father. I desire the bread of God, which is the flesh of Jesus Christ, and for drink His blood, which is incorruptible charity. Pray for me that I may possess God.

          Whilst i may not be that brave and don’t desire martyrdom, i do think that there is a lot in that to reflect on . Enjoy it.

