Hi, You may well be asking what does WDPV mean ???…………… it is World Day of Prayer for Vocations, this took place fittingly enough on 4th sunday of Easter and what we did was to have a day of Exposition before the Blessed Sacrament for this intention.  I think it is also time to let you know that we have someone in the Novitiate as a Postulant and also at the moment we have an Aspirant and someone else coming for a brief visit shortly……

I have asked our sister to write a few words for this post and this is what she says:

I was drawn to the monastic life where i could spend more time in prayer than in a busy parish. I was already an Benedictine Oblate (not of this community), Colwich was the first I was interested in and contacted them via email. I spent a few days as a guest and knew that this was where God wanted me to be. On Easter Monday I left home and travelled down to St. Mary’s accompanied by my family and parish priest. I was very nervous and it was scary to know this was the time to enter – not as an Aspirant but as a Postulant. I was no stranger to the community and visa-versa, this time it was different I was staying if this is where God wants me – he will make it known. The welcoming ceremony was short and only a matter of minutes, I left the guest room, knocked on the Enclosure door, Mother Prioress asked me what I wanted and I replied that with God’s grace I was asking enterance to the Abbey. The door then opened wider and I was lead to the Chapter Room then to the foot of the Altar, we then returned to the chapter room to be given the sign of peace by Mother Abbess then with each sister in turn. The presence of God was surely there and I know He will be there always.

All Praise and Thanks be to God, I place my trust in you Divine Companion as I travel lifes path’ ……………………………  

